Review: Sigma DP3M and Marumi +5


deutsch_s1

So far, I have only been writing reviews on individual lenses and cameras. With the Marumi DHG 200 on top, the DP3M transforms from a tool for portraits, details and close-ups into a genuine macro-camera, so that the achromatic lens and the Merrill now need to be viewed as an entirely new whole. On this occasion, I will not go into the DP3M without the Marumi, as I have already done that in my review of the camera. This is about macro, and with an achromatic lens, at that.

Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)

The DP3M without additional lens reaches an image ratio of 1:3. While this is sufficient for bigger butterflies, it is not enough to get medium-sized spiders, wasps, bees and small bugs (such as ladybugs) onto the sensor in sufficient size.

UnbenanntUnbenannt

With the Marumi on top, image ratio increases to 1:1.6. This way, results can be obtained that get close to those of a DSLR camera with a macro lens. What does the difference between 1:3 and 1:1.6 look like exactly? Let’s take a 10 cent coin as an example:

Sigma DP3 MerrillSigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5

It has to be mentioned that neither the DP3M with the Marumi, nor any DSLR with macro lens and image ratio of 1:1 can in fact project small spiders (such as jumping spiders) or ladybugs so that they fill the entire frame. For such scenes, more inconvenient, expensive and bigger solutions are needed. Close-up rings and reverse mounted lenses are some of these solutions, although certain camera features and light gathering power are sacrificed. None of this can, however, measure up to the simplicity, the small size and the low weight of the DP3M with the Marumi. The Merrill and the Marumi can be taken anywhere at any time, and can be pulled out of your jacket pocket or photo pouch in a matter of seconds as soon as you happen to notice an interesting beetle. You can also shoot from the hand, even though this is naturally more difficult and leads to a high rejection rate. It is substantially better if you lean your hands or the camera against something or use a tripod. I always shift to manual focus, turn on the screen magnifier, pre-focus on minimum focus distance and move the camera back and forth until the sharpness is where it should be. As I never only venture out on pure macro-tours, I leave my tripod at home. It’s big, heavy and slows you down far too much, so that it reduces the entire concept of macro photography with a small, light compact camera to absurdity. I prefer taking several shots of the same scene to be on the safe side, and later delete the badly focused on my PC.

Despite my rather unusual workflow, the results are impressive, I think. 🙂

Bottom line:

The Marumi is a small and affordable add-on, which transforms the DP3M into a more capable macro-camera. The outstanding image quality of the camera is, as far as I can tell, not negatively influenced by the achromatic lens. At a price of not even €50 (that’s what the Marumi +5 with 52mm filter thread cost me), one simply can’t go wrong with this. 🙂

(Most of the following photos are available in full resolution on flickr)

Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5 (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5Sigma DP3 Merrill & Marumi +5

You can find additional DP3M photos on Pinterest or on Flickr-Album.

  1. I have a DPM 2. Do you have any idea of how well this lens will work on this camera? I suppose the only issue is that you’ll get less magnification, right?

    Reply

    1. I also have the DP2M. I haven’t tried it though, but I will, as soon as I find the time.

      Reply

  2. […] last few days, I’ve been on the road again with the Sigma DP3 Merrill and the Marumi +5, and what can I say, I am very pleased with the shots. Some of the pictures are, in my opinion, the […]

    Reply

  3. […] have it, very different subjects popped up in front of my camera. Everything from dogs and cats, to macros with the Marumi achromatic lens and light effects to high-ISO-shots is included. As it currently looks light-wise, I will soon take […]

    Reply

  4. Thanks for the review. I have been looking for information on close-up lenses from Marumi and Raynox for the DP3M, which I consider a fabulous landscape and botany camera that is ideally suited for taking hiking (along with a 3# tripod/head).

    Reply

    1. You are welcome Nancy! Thanks for visiting! 🙂

      Reply

  5. Hi Lars;
    I want to do flower macro work and I’m wondering if the +3 might be a better choice?
    I would like the +5 later for bugs.
    You work is awesome and helpful as I am just stating out with the DP3 coming from Nikon D800 world, I love the resolution of the camera even thou I’ve taken on one shot.
    Cheers
    Lou

    Reply

    1. Hi Louis,

      it all depends on the size of flowers. Most can be shot without an achromatic lens. For really small ones you will need a +3 or +5. I’d get a +5, because the difference is substantial, and it would enable you to take photos of all sorts of insects with good image ratio. But since the filters are not that expensive, you could get the +3 now, and if you realize that it’s not enough for some subjects you would like to shoot, get a +5 later.

      Thanks for the compliment!

      Regards,
      Lars

      Reply

      1. Hi Lars:
        Thank you very much for the reply. You work is wonderful. Cheers

      2. Hi Louis,

        you are very kind, thank you! 🙂

        Regards,
        Lars

  6. Dear Lars,

    So excited to discover this site, with your wonderful and inspiring photos, as I’ve recently bought a DP3 myself. Did you consider the Raynox DCR150/250 options before choosing the Marumi? and if so, what made you prefer the latter?

    Best wishes,
    Charles

    Reply

    1. Hi Charles,

      first of all, thank you very much for the compliment!
      As far as I know Raynox achromatic lenses have a 43mm thread or you can use them with that fairly large universal adapter. Since I wanted to use the achromatic lens on my DP3M, which is as you know a relatively small camera, I wanted to keep the size of the achromatic lens down. Therefore I’ve decided to get the Marumi with a 52mm filter thread. That way no step up ring or adapter is needed and you hardly notice the achromatic lens on the camera. It’s a smaller package compared to a Raynox + DP3M.

      Best regards,
      Lars

      Reply

  7. […] with the DP3M and an achromatic lens (you can find my review of the Marumi +5 DHG200 and DP3M setup here) I’m a bit frustrated because of not having an achromatic lens with 72mm filter thread and […]

    Reply

  8. […] Here you can take a look at which blow-ups can be achieved with the DP3M and the Marumi DHG200 +5 achromatic lens. Don’t forget, the DP3M reaches an image ratio of 1:3 and benefits less from close-up lenses due to a shorter focal length (50mm vs. 70mm). […]

    Reply

  9. […] since such heavy equipment turns it into pure work? This hasn’t happened to me once with the DP3M and the Marumi. […]

    Reply

  10. Found your site. Just like to tell that I had tested DP3m with Olympus MCON-40 (+2.5D, 55mm filter). Macro is about 1:1.6 too. There’s almost no fringe or distortion. Working distant’s about 10-12 cm.

    Also test with 10D Optika closeup. Working distant is reduced to mere 5-6 cm. Lighting become very hard. There’s almost no DOF below f/8. Almost no fringe or distortion too.

    The worst nightmare is reversed Olympus 50mm f/1.8. Though I get about 1.5:1 from this jewel, there’s severe vignette. After cropping, I get 2:1 macro. Working distant is about 2-3cm. DOF is practically non-exist.

    The no-beauty-at-all tested pictures can be examined at https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=oa.1423350177921612&type=1

    Reply

    1. I saw your samples, the magnification with the Optika is very impressive. Thanks for the info and the samples. 🙂

      Reply

  11. […] windy weather with plenty of sunshine was forecast a few days ago I wanted to try it. I took my Sigma DP3M and the Marumi and went on a hunt for insects. Three hours later I understood once and for all why experienced […]

    Reply

  12. […] macros. When it comes to image ratio, it is nothing out of the ordinary, the DP3M, paired with the Marumi DHG200 achromatic lens, could perform distinctly better. But of all macros I took in the last years, I […]

    Reply

  13. […] I was out and about again with my standard macro setup, the Sigma DP3 Merrill and the Marumi DHG200. Plenty of sun and hardly any wind – perfect conditions for a macro walkabout. And wherever you […]

    Reply

  14. […] I took macro photos with the DP3 Merrill und dem Marumi DHG200 +5 today, I noticed the effect you can see in the first picture. You should know that the photo is […]

    Reply

  15. […] 1:1,6 and 1:3. This is just the magnification that my DP3 Merrill achieves with and without the Marumi DHG +5 achromatic lens. Below, I put up the macros that rank among my ten best ones according to […]

    Reply

  16. Hi Lars,

    welchen Marumi hast Du dir denn gekauft? es gibt bei Amazon 52mm, 58mm, und eine 62mm variante.
    Ich habe auch die DP3M und würde mir gerne auch diese Vorsatzlinse kaufen, bin nur etwas verunsichert welche am besten für die DP3 geeignet wäre

    Reply

    1. Hi Rostislaw,

      ich habe die Variante des Marumi mit einem 52mm Filterdurchmesser, welche genau auf das Objektiv der DP3M passt. Größere Filter würde ich dir nur empfehlen, falls du sie auch auf anderen Objektive benutzen möchtest. DSLR-Objektive haben bspw. fast ausnahmslos größere Filterdurchmesser als 52mm. In dem Fall müsstest du aber auch passende Step-Up-Ringe für die DP3M kaufen.

      LG
      Lars

      Reply

      1. Hi Lars,

        danke für die Antwort. Habe mir dann aber auch im nachhinein gedacht des es der Filterdurchmesser sein muss.
        Das ganze wird aber auch noch als +5 bzw +3 Variante angeboten, gibt es da qualitative unterschiede?

        LG
        Rostislaw

      2. Hi Lars,

        danke für die Antwort. Habe mir dann aber auch im nachhinein gedacht des es der Filterdurchmesser sein muss.
        Das ganze wird aber auch noch als +5 bzw +3 Variante angeboten, gibt es da qualitative unterschiede?

        LG
        Rostislaw

        Hi Rostislaw,

        nichts zu danken. Ob es qualitative Unterschiede gibt, kann ich nicht sagen. Ich besitze nur die Variante DHG200 +5. Da +5 (Dioptrien-Angabe) mehr als +3 ist, vermute ich dass Marumis mit +5 stärker vergrößern.

        LG
        Lars

  17. […] since I do not own a high-ISO camera, I took the smallest and most easily manageable macro combo (Sigma DP3 Merrill / Marum DHG200) that I have. This one fits snugly under the rain jacket, I can get it out fast and, as soon as the […]

    Reply

  18. […] taken quite a few nice macro shots with my go-to macro gear (Sigma DP3 Merrill and Marumi DHG200 achromatic lens) in the past. Being curious as I am, I’ve wondered for quite some time, how this combo would […]

    Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.