Do you use the shadows and highlights sliders in SPP?


deutsch_s1

The best known quote by Socrates “I know that I know nothing” describes my attitude to Sigma Photo Pro very well. Just when I think that I know the RAW converter by heart, I discover something totally new. 😉 For instance, I haven’t paid any attention to the sliders “shadows” and “highlights” for a very long time as their effect is totally different than the effect of their equivalents in Lightroom. However, as I’ve recently found out, there’s also a reason why these sliders exist. Only you shouldn’t make the mistake of trying to darken or, respectively, brighten up or restore the highlights. As is generally known, crushed shadows and blown highlights are best handled with the sliders “exposure” and “fill light”. With “shadow” and “highlights” sliders, however, you can set the contrast and the saturation in a way that images appear similar to slide film. I’m sure you can also achieve similar results with Lightroom, but not as quickly and easily as with these two sliders in SPP.

Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)

Do you use the above-mentioned sliders, or do you just continue in Lightroom after exporting the TIFF files?
Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)

You can find more of my shots taken with the DP2Q on Pinterest and Flickr.

  1. Hi Lars,
    I do use them. I actually try to make the image as perfect as I can in SPP and then only do final tweaking in Lightroom. Of course, I’m still new to SPP and Sigma Foveon in general. One slider that I have yet to understand the SPP is the “Highlight Correction” option. So far I have seen no difference. By the way, you have some lovely photos here illustrating the post.

    Reply

    1. Hi Dan,

      I try to make some images perfect in SPP and tweak them in LR. Others I process mostly in LR.

      Regarding “Highlight Correction”: take a look at the transition between the overexposed part of the image and the not overexposed parts. The transition should be smoother with Highlight Correction activated. It does not correct overexposed parts like say the highlight slider in Lightroom does. For that you have to use negative exposure and positive fill light in SPP.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

