Guest contribution: Portrait and landscape photography with the Sigma 35 mm f1.4 Art and 20 mm 1.4 Art lenses


_W__0859.jpg

Hey guys!

I’m really excited to give you some insights into my world of photography. In my article I focus on using the Sigma 35 mm f1.4 Art and 20 mm 1.4 Art lenses while I work with my Canon 5d Mark III. Sigma’s 35 mm lens is a true all-round lens which I primarily use for portrait photography. But even for landscape photography I appreciate and love the Art series in particular because of its high light intensity and, in my opinion, its perfect bokeh. Today I mainly want to show you creative portraits because that’s what the Art series is based on. “The kind of photography that makes a photographer an artist.” As for landscape photography, I’ll show you what in my opinion is possible with Art lenses – at daytime and at night.

_W__8759

Before I want to show you some of my own pictures, I’ll briefly introduce myself. My name is Sabine Wieser, I’m a passionate portrait and landscape photographer, 26 years young and I love exploring new locations and taking pictures. Five years ago I discovered photography and since then I’ve been investing a lot of time and energy in my passion. I take pictures in order to save moments forever by capturing the things the way I see them. That may sound quite easy now but sometimes it’s not easy at all. I’ll be happy if you visit my website www.sabinewieser.com and one or the other face will become a member of my community on Facebook. You can find me there on: Sabine Wieser Fotografie.

_W__9777

Meta data: Sigma 35 mm, f/1.6, 1/320 Sek., ISO 1600

Let’s start our virtual tour with creative portrait photography. I love pictures of silhouettes and under very poor lighting conditions I use my Sigma lenses. As you can guess from my Exif files, I took some pictures with a higher ISO value, which, however, is not a problem with my 5d Mark III. I can later reduce noise in Photoshop and sometimes I even leave the corny appearance – as currently this is trendy.

The series of the couple in the rain was a spontaneous idea on a cooler autumn evening. The only source of light was a spotlight in the background. Flashlight didn’t seem so appropriate and not necessary to me, as the source of light in the background was enough. The umbrella served both as a protection for my two models and as a shade for the spotlight. An image which leaves space for imagination and inspiration.

_W__7081

Meta data : Sigma 35 mm, f/6.3, 1/160, ISO 1600

One of my true favorites. Yes I know, you won’t guess that we were at our location at 4 in the morning to fill hot air balloons with helium, but I’m very connected to this photo. Getting up so early definitely paid off because you won’t see these amazing colors of the rising sun every day. To me this picture symbolizes a certain feeling of ease as one of my ideas was successfully realized. Shooting at sunrise has many advantages: I can use my time for another portrait series and in the morning you get a magical light. But more about this later in my gentian image.

 

_W__5137sw

Meta data: Sigma 35 mm, f/1.8, 1/640, ISO 1250

Spontaneity is never a mistake in portrait photography. My client brought a bag filled with feathers to our shooting and, of course, they were to be used. I like in particular that the feathers flying around created a nice foreground and made our picture look more exciting for the observer. When I take portraits with a 1.8 aperture, I always focus on the eye that’s closer to me. This creates a very soft image and, in my opinion, it’s also a compliment to the skin.

_W__0569

Meta data: Sigma 35 mm, f/1.6, 1/125, ISO 500

In my article I’d like to show you some pictures which are a bit more extraordinary. Handling smoke flares is fairly easy – provided that there’s no wind. We decided to do the photo shooting inside an old room with a brick and wooden wall. With a quick upward hand move the smoke spread nicely and Birgit’s serious expression was perfect for this scene.

 

_W__9760

Metadaten: Sigma 35 mm, f/2, 1/320, ISO 200

I had a unique shooting with these two twin sisters. Both are a real dream team and I wanted to show their connectedness in my photos as clearly as possible. Can you guess on what kind of surface they’re lying? The concrete floor seemed too sad to me, so Luise and Laura lay on my big reflector. I find this brilliant and their white outfits are very harmonious. Here I could use my 35mm lens for a perfect framing from above.

 

_W__1586

Meta data: Sigma 35 mm, f/2, 1/2500, ISO 100

In order to finish my portrait series with the 35 mm lens in a nice way, I decided to show you this picture. I’m a real fan of flower fields and poppy flowers, in particular, are very well visible at sunset. I illuminated Laura with a reflector and took an overexposed picture of her. I don’t think the bright sky is annoying in this case as the poppy flowers are already colorful enough and the sun can easily be seen on the hat.

_W__2451

Meta data: Sigma 20 mm, f/1.6, 25 Sek., ISO 1250

Now I’d still like to give you some smaller insights into my landscape photos. A night in the Gesäuse mountains is hard to be described in few words. In the middle of the night we hiked to the snow-covered village of Johnsbach to take some new photos of the stars. The conditions were perfect: New moon, a clear sky and an area that is barely polluted by light sources. We only had to deal with the cold because setting the focus manually wasn’t very easy with thick gloves. In the end, I’m very happy with our result and proud of our endurance. We took the pictures with my Sigma 20 mm 1.4 Art and set the manual focus. This works in two ways: By illuminating the forest, for instance with a flashlight or by focusing with a zoom via the display.

_W__9846

Meta data: Sigma 20 mm, f/9, 1/400, ISO 100

Vista of Weißenkirchen in beautiful Wachau. I rarely take my Sigma 20mm on long hiking tours as you’ll feel it on your back after a couple of hours. This picture was taken by chance when I shot at a wedding as a second shooter. Getting married with this amazing view can only be described in one word: Perfect. The nice cloudy atmosphere and the vine in the foreground surround the little church and thus one of my favorite landscape photos was created at daytime.

 

_W__2223

Meta data: Sigma 35 mm, f/2.5, 1/640, ISO 100

Bokehlicious – probably is the best way to describe the photo of the gentian photo at dawn. Not everybody likes getting up so early, but the walk on the Hochkar at 5 a.m. was really fantastic. The first sun beams made the dewdrops sparkle and helped to create one of my favorite photos. I still find the bokeh in the foreground really amazing and as I’m a real fan of flowers, this photo hangs on the wall of my bedroom in a 120x80cm canvas frame.

_W__0931

Metam data: 20 mm, f 1.6, 20 Sek., ISO 800

I really like this picture for the story behind it. We slept for a night in the Oberhütte at a lake near Salzburg and in the middle of the night we got up and looked for some beautiful pictures of the stars. When browsing through the pictures next morning, we noticed that the cat of the house had sneaked into the picture and even if her silhouette may seem a bit strange to the observer, I certainly wouldn’t want to remove the cat from my photo.

More of my work here:

Website:  www.sabinewieser.com

Instagram: www.instagram.com/sabine_loves_photography

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/sabinewieserfotografie

_W_2573leopoldsteinersee_eisenerz_W__7027_W__9656_W__7081_1

Leave a Reply

