Photo walk through a zoo and wildlife park


After winter the beginning of spring is one of the nicest seasons of the year! When the first sun beams emerge and the animals raise their offspring, strolling through the wilds will pay off even more. What can be more beautiful than a walk through a zoo and wildlife park? Once again the perfect time to grab my camera, capture these moments and fully enjoy nature!

Today I took along my Canon 5D Mark III and the SIGMA 150mm f/2.8 APO MACRO EX DG OS lens. Once again I wanted to use my 150mm fixed focal length and therefore a trip into the nature was perfect. I was able to take some good animal portraits from the distance while creating wonderful bokeh as well. The depth of field, in particular, stands out and nicely puts the animals into the focus of the observer.

Besides that, I also had the chance to acquire new techniques relating to wildlife photography at a photo workshop in the park. Therefore I was allowed to test a photographer’s SIGMA 50-500mm f/4.5-6.3 DG OS zoom lens and I was flabbergasted right away. Perfectly clear photos could be made with a shutter speed of 1/640 seconds without using a tripod. The enclosures and fences often make it hard to get good pictures – but the SIGMA 50-100mm mega zoom lens offers the best solution as it proves to be an absolute all-round lens. Great distances still allow wonderful snapshots or close-ups.

So how do you like this photo of a tiger? Maybe I can provide you with more progress reports about this particular lens next time. In any case, I believe that the lens proves to be a perfect travel companion in the wilds of nature.

See you next time!

Leave a Reply

