Marrakech


Hey guys,

Today’s photo walk also takes us to the red city or the Pearl of the South – better known as Marrakech. I don’t get tired of repeating how spellbound I was by this city. I don’t know if you know this feeling but some places simply are different. They have their charm and without realizing you get spellbound.

So far not many cities have delighted me as much as that one. Besides Istanbul and Hanoi, Marrakech definitely belongs to my favorite photo cities.

1-min

2-min

When you stroll through the narrow streets of this metropolis you’ll notice a lot of red walls. The whole city is covered by this wonderful red tone. On your way through the narrow streets, pathways and corridors you’ll spot a lot of discreet doors like that one. From a European perspective you’ll find it hard to imagine what’s really behind these doors!

3-min

4-min

Like in a fairytale from 1001 Nights! Amazing colorful mosaics and patterns, impressive curtains and decorations. Exquisite furniture and even a little pool are hidden behind. As I took my first step through that door I was simply flabbergasted! I took the pictures with my 24-105mm F4 DG OS HSM | SIGMA lens and my Canon EOS 5D MarkIII. For almost every photo I decided to use a wide aperture to get a nice depth of field.

5-min

6-min

7-min

I truly recommend Marrakech to every photographer who loves traveling! I’ve rarely seen so many subjects on such little space! The souqs, the markets, the different kinds of people, ranging from snake charmers to colorful dancers, are simply unbelievable. All this will make your photographer’s heart beat faster! But with all these subjects don’t forget to enjoy some traditional Moroccan mint tea on a rooftop terrace above the city every once in a while! This is also part of this city’s atmosphere. (Pictures 8,9)

8-min9-min

Leave a Reply

