Photowalk with the Sigma 70-200 mm F2,8 EX DG OS HSM


2d6a1250-min

2d6a1252-min

Hey guys,

After my last photo walks and reviews led me through the streets of Marrakech, this week it was time again to take a tour through the local forests. Winter is about to fade away and the sun comes back for a few hours as the sunbeams warm our skin again. The last snow is about to melt and every now and then you can see little green leaves and grasses sprout.

Instead of fixing my reliable SIGMA 24-105mm F4 DG OS HSM | Art or my 50mm F1,4 DG HSM | Art lenses on my Canon 5D MarkIII camera, today I decided for the SIGMA 70-200mm F2,8 EX DG OS HSM. Because of the large focal distance range of this lens it is perfect for portrait, documentary and wildlife photography as well as for concerts and astrophotography.

The 70-200mm convinced me with its top build quality. One disadvantage, unfortunately, is its heavy weight of 1,430g. It is incredibly light intense and beyond that it also has good image stabilization. Its aperture ranges between 2.8 and 22.

The zoom area of this lens is versatile, combining typical focal lengths for portrait photography but also being suitable for wildlife photos. Unfortunately, the close-focus limit of 140cm didn’t really convince me. Very often I was forced to take another step back from my desired subject in order to take good photos. As I’m a big fan of low depths of field, I prefer taking pictures with an open aperture. With this lens, however, you should be a bit careful with a wide-open aperture, but if you dim twice the result will work out fairly well!

2d6a1257-min

2d6a1264-min

2d6a1270-min

2d6a1273-min

2d6a1275-min

2d6a1276-min

2d6a1280-min

2d6a1288-min

2d6a1290-min

Merken

Leave a Reply

