Night photography with the SIGMA Art 50-100mm f/1.8 DC HSM lens


After an exhausting month of exams at university the desire for some fresh air was rarely as big as yesterday evening. So despite the freezing cold and the dark I decided to drive to the river at the outskirts of the city with my camera equipment. This time I took the SIGMA Art 50-100mm f/1.8 DC HSM and my Canon EOS 600D with me.

nacht-2

A big plus of the new SIGMA Art lens was, of course, its enormous light intensity which was a great help for my ISO-limited camera with a consistent open aperture of f/1.8. With time exposures I also managed to avoid high ISO and a lot of image noise. In spite of the dark and according to the circumstances the auto focus worked fine and reliably.

Because of a focal length of 50-100mm this lens is only partly suitable for landscape photography or shooting the city skyline, respectively. Although I was standing on the other side of the river my sensor wasn’t really able to capture the entire image of the nocturnal panorama. So you shouldn’t underestimate the focal length which is perfect, for instance, for portrait and wildlife photography (see my last review in the zoo), however, it’s too big for wider images.

Another aspect with the SIGMA 50-100mm f/1.8 is its size and its weight. With an approximate length of 17cm, a 9cm diameter and a weight of almost 1.5kg this lens means quite some weight to carry. Camera shakes without using a tripod are a risk with this size since the hand-holding limit is a lot minor than, for example, with a fixed focal length or a smaller zoom lens.

As a conclusion of my nocturnal walk I can only say that the SIGMA Art 50-100mm is an excellent lens for portrait and wildlife photography. For this it has a perfect focal length and an amazing open aperture with an incredible depth of field. For this it has also been created and designed. At night, however, you can hardly use these qualities. Nevertheless shooting at night with this lens is also great fun but next time I’m going to pack in the much more compact SIGMA Art 35mm f/1.4 for walks at night.

nacht-1

Leave a Reply

