Photo walk in the snowy mountains


Verschneite_Berge_Fotospaziergang-1.jpg

After the first long-awaited snowfall I didn’t want to stay in my apartment any longer last weekend. In order to have light and flexible baggage to carry this time I decided once again after a long time for my compact all-round lens, the SIGMA 17-50mm f/2.8 EX DC OS HSM. With this lens I had a wonderful range of fixed focal lengths suitable for every subject. The intense consistent open aperture of 2.8 allows nice bokeh and a great depth of field even though it’s an APSC camera.

Fortunately, I was on a short holiday in the Tyrolean Mountains at exactly the same time of this surprisingly late winter. For this reason I could start a small tour through the surrounding forests on that perfect day, accompanied by some warm sun beams and with light equipment. I soon forgot about the freezing cold, spellbound by the incredibly beautiful scenery and the wonderful subjects the environment offered.

Ice crystals on remaining dry flowers, icicles growing down from walls, the sinking sun coloring the surrounding mountains in a magical light, frozen waterfalls or colorful spots in the white of red rosehips on a barren scrub… The SIGMA 17-50mm f/2.8 provided me the photo results I’d wished. The blurring, contrasting depths, the shimmer of the ice and the sharpness – nothing was left to be desired.

For me that’s one good reason to grab my all-round lens which I’d neglected or some time more frequently – because not without reason it’s become my favorite lens for many months.

verschneite_berge_fotospaziergang-2-min

verschneite_berge_fotospaziergang-3-min

verschneite_berge_fotospaziergang-4-min

verschneite_berge_fotospaziergang-5-min

Leave a Reply

