Portrait Photography with the Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM


One Model – one Location – one Lens. To have the right equipment for my upcoming photoshoot, I look through my objectives for a suitable portrait lens.

Back then, as a beginner in the photography, I bought the light strong Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM lens. Now, I unpacked it again and to have a closer look. In comparison with my Canon 50mm F1.4 is the fixed-focal-length from Sigma with 800g significantly heavier and therefore handier, what I really like.

_mg_0685-min

The filter diameter of the objective is 77mm, it consists of 8 lenses and 9 aperture blades, which provide a beautiful bokeh. Especially by portraits is it important for me to have a nice background blur, which outlines the foreground. In this regard, you can stage the model perfectly in the foreground. The focus is, because of the Super Sonic Wave Motor, fast and silent, although I’ve noticed a slight misfocusing by some shots. The image angle of the Sigma got 46,8°, which makes the pictures a little bit more wide-angled, than my Canons fixed focal length.

Through the aspherical lens element are distortion and aberrations reduced, and you get definite, color-intensive shots. As I could notice on my pictures, had the vignetting a very low level. The portrait shots show high-contrast images and a great sharpness. Under difficult lightning conditions is my Canon EOS 70D notable to hold the high ISO, with the consequence that the footage is a little grainy. Yet is the result by favourable lightning gratifying, which can be seen on the sample pictures.

Conclusion:

The Sigma 50mm F1.4 EX DG HSM is a super always-there optic, which suits to portrait shots both for outdoor and indoor areas. It’s an amazing standard objective with a focusing distance of 45cm. Also made – even under difficult lightning conditions – high-quality pictures during my outdoor shots.

_mg_0652-min

_mg_0583-min

Leave a Reply

