A lens in use – The SIGMA 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM in the street light and in the dark


As you could already see on this blog, the SIGMA 35mm f/1.4 DG HSM lens has been part of the equipment I take with me for quite some time now. I’ve tested its heart and its soul by studying diverse reports, professional reviews etc. and, of course, by taking photos myself under different conditions.

In order to finalize all the information on this particular lens I took pictures under very special light conditions for you – in artificial light in the dark.

Regarding the specs I need to say that I took all the pictures with an APS-C camera, the Canon EOS 600D. This means that I had to keep the ISO value as low as possible in order to take high quality pictures – so it was a real challenge for the optics of the lens.

bild1-min

Meta data

Aperture: 1.4
Shutter speed: 1/50
ISO: 400

Since it also pays off discovering your surroundings at night through the lens of your camera, I went for a walk right on the first evening of my previous summer vacation. As you can see the picture wasn’t taken in total darkness as there were many different light sources on the road. In this case the difficulty was to capture the moving passersby as sharply as possible.

The limits of the APS-C camera are very obvious here, however, with an open aperture of 1.4 it was possible for me to keep the shutter speed as low as possible. A shutter speed below 1/50 wouldn’t have worked with this ISO value though. So in any case you’ll notice a minor motion blur. However, as you can see the rest of the surroundings have turned out clear and detailed.

 bild2-min

Meta data:

Aperture: 1.4
Shutter speed: 1/50
ISO: 400

The same configuration – a different subject and only little light, to be exact only one minor light source of a streetlamp standing near a bush. However, the leaves and blossoms are very clear. The sparse lighting also makes the colors shine in the dark.

bild3-min
Meta data

Open aperture: 4.5
Shutter speed: 1/50
ISO: 1600

It’s quite obvious – I’ve been cheating with this picture. This photo wasn’t taken at night but during the day. However, I took it in one of the many dark underground passages you can often find in Liguria. Here I increased the ISO value while closing the aperture further as I wanted to achieve a higher level of sharpness. But even in this picture the lens balanced the limits of my camera fairly well.

 bild4-min

Meta Data

Open aperture: 1.4
Shutter speed: 1/50
Underexposure: -1
ISO: 1600

Standing on the stairs this dog kept waiting for his master. He was only illuminated by one single light source. I had to be fast to take this picture and capture the short moment where the dog didn’t move.

 bild5-min

Meta data

Open aperture: 1.4
Shutter speed: 1/50
ISO: 1600

Only looking briefly over his shoulder and the little guy was looking forward again. This time the light conditions are somehow different as I shot him from the other side. This perspective offered me some more light than the previous one.

bild6-min

Meta Data

Open aperture: 1.4
Shutter speed: 1/60
ISO: 1600

The reflection of the city lights in the rail tracks had a very nice effect which I wanted to try in a photo once. Additional light sources in the city provided enough brightness to reduce the shutter speed to 1/60 although the foreground is dark.

Conclusion:

My APS-C camera which I appreciate a lot for its compact build-quality and light weight certainly has its limits when there’s not enough light. However, with the SIGMA 35mm f/1.4 lens it was very easy for me to react fast and take nice photos even in the dark. Its open aperture and focus work very well and reliably even under such conditions, thus making spontaneous pictures possible.

Speaking for myself I’m very happy with this optics even under such conditions.

 

  1. This has been really one of the top articles i have read. It was very informative.Looking forward for more blogs of this particular in near future

    Reply

    1. oh thank so much! This means a lot! 🙂 I hope I’ll be able to provide more informational stuff like that in the future!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

