Tips and tricks in macro photography


Hey everybody!
I’m Tamara. Me and my friend Beatrice have the honor to continue the blog of our beloved Lars!

I want to start right away with introducing a new format today, I really hope you like it! 🙂
From today, I’ll add a tips & tricks series to my reviews, news and photo walks. In this section I simply want to tell you what I focus on and pay attention to with regards to certain aspects in photography. I’ll start with macro photography!

1

Unfortunately, today was another rainy day, so I couldn’t take many insect pictures. Nevertheless I’ll tell you a few things I generally keep in mind.

Light: In my opinion, diffuse light is the most appropriate light. That means soft light that doesn’t cast any harsh shadows.  The best way is to shoot in the late mornings or early afternoons, however, if you want to work at noon, a diffuser should be very helpful to block off the light. Very often it’s good and the best solution to look for the shadows.

Perspective: An easy and efficient way to get interesting macros is to be on an equally high level with the subject you want to shoot, so you will not only point down when taking the picture.

Sharpness: My point on sharpness is – open aperture and shoot! I think that shallow depths of field and macro photography are a perfect match. 😉

Patience: Probably the most important thing in this field of photography is to “be patient”. It often takes a lot of time until the grasshopper jumps on the perfect blade of grass and until the sun slowly disappears behind a cloud.

Focus on detail: A wonderful thing about macro photography is that you will discover minor aspects and details that remain hidden to most other people. Drops of water on leaves, little beetles shining in many colors, or tiny flowers hiding somewhere.  These little details are just wonderful and great subjects for your photos!

Information: I must confess that I don’t often use this tip, but it makes a lot of sense to get some information in advance on which kinds of insects and plants you can find in which areas! Then it will be a lot easier to find the right subjects and the right surroundings.

Courage to get closer: The proboscis of a butterfly, the reflection of a drop of water, or the eye of a fly… Sometimes you can try to get another step closer to your subject (while taking the risk, of course, that they will escape – but who knows, maybe you’ll create something really fabulous!)

Choice of lens: My favorite lens for this particular field of photography is definitely the SIGMA 105mm f/2.8 EX DG OS HSM Macro lens. With a great aperture of 2.8 and a very good degree of sharpness with an open aperture, this lens is perfect to shoot macro. It has a close-focus limit of 31cm, which is very important for such pictures.

Basically, when choosing a macro lens you should keep in mind that it has a longer focal length and a close focus limit. A smaller aperture will also be of greater advantage.

 And that’s it with all the things I pay attention to when I go on a photo walk to catch minor details. 🙂
I hope that you will like this new series and that my tips will help you. If you have any other ideas for new topics, you can tell me in your comments!

 

5

4

3

2

6

Posted by Tamara

 

2 thoughts on “Tips and tricks in macro photography

Leave a Reply

