About missing spring, tropical temperatures and colorful butterflies


Finally spring arrived, but this year it took forever.
Missing sunlight and no trace of springtime in the past few weeks. That’s why I spent an afternoon in the city’s Butterfly House. Tropical temperatures, palm trees and exotic flowers everywhere.

Well equipped with my camera and the 30mm Art lens with a 1.4 aperture, I tried to hunt down the colorful beautiful winged creatures. Taking nice pictures of them didn’t turn out to be easy at all.
Again and again they landed on the flowers but they kept moving their wings so fast that I , in order to be able to  take sharp pictures I had to shorten the exposure time a lot. Another issue was that the light wasn’t that good. Very useful was, the extremely bright lens. With an open aperture I could balance the difficult photography conditions pretty well.

_MG_1714

_MG_1707

_MG_1722

_MG_1726

_MG_1758

_MG_1812

_MG_1851

My expedition to the Butterfly House was great fun. I strolled through the room, searching for different kinds of butterflies, for new colors and new color subjects, and finally even forgot about the rain that had started again outside.

In case that you’re also missing the sun some day,  I can only recommend visiting a tropical house! Have a lot of fun there – and don’t forget your camera!

  1. […] I was feeling a couple of days ago, so I decided spontaneously to visit the Butterfly House once again! This time I brought my  SIGMA 105 f/2.8 EX DG OS HSM Macro lens, because for me,  it is the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

