As a photographer who favours normal focal length you can get used to the 35 mm focal length


deutsch_s1

I was having a tough time with Sigma’s 24/1.4 Art in the beginning because I didn’t get along with its focal length. I’m used to taking photos with a normal focal length or even longer focal lengths such as the DP3M’s 50mm (which is equivalent to 75mm in full frame terms). But it’s not like I’m against (ultra) wide-angle lenses in general, because there was also a short time where I almost exclusively shot pictures with the Sigma 10-20/3.5. The 24mm focal length was a problem for me because it’s pretty similar to a normal focal length yet it isn’t a normal focal length.

In practice this little difference in focal lengths can be more annoying than you would assume. If you take pictures over a longer period of time with one single or just a few focal lengths, as I did with the 30mm (DP2M, DP2Q, 30/1.4), you will get something like an “frame line” into the field of view which correspond to that one focal length or the one used most frequently. In my case, these frame lines are corresponding to the normal focal length so that even before looking through the viewfinder or at the display I know how close I have move to a subject in order to shoot it, for instance, in full format. However, if I take pictures with the 24mm, I always get the feeling that the distance to the subject is just right, but every time I look through the viewfinder I’m proven wrong. Then I have to remove the camera from my eye and make a few steps forward. And this happens numerous times during a photo shoot. After a while you feel like a donkey running after a carrot. 😉

But I’m beginning to think that I got the hang of it. I probably got the message at the end of yesterday’s photo shoot when I took the following picture of a frog.
Sigma SD1 Merrill & 24mm f/1.4 Art (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma SD1 Merrill & 24mm f/1.4 Art (volle Auflösung - full resolution) Sigma SD1 Merrill & 24mm f/1.4 Art (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma SD1 Merrill & 24mm f/1.4 Art (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma SD1 Merrill & 24mm f/1.4 Art (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma SD1 Merrill & 24mm f/1.4 Art (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma SD1 Merrill & 24mm f/1.4 Art (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma SD1 Merrill & 24mm f/1.4 Art (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma SD1 Merrill & 24mm f/1.4 Art (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma SD1 Merrill & 24mm f/1.4 Art (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma SD1 Merrill & 24mm f/1.4 Art (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma SD1 Merrill & 24mm f/1.4 Art (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma SD1 Merrill & 24mm f/1.4 Art (volle Auflösung - full resolution)You can find more of my shots taken with the 24/1.4 Art on Flickr and Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

