Macro photography is not like riding a bicycle


deutsch_s1

It’s said you never forget how to ride a bike. Unfortunately, macro-photography is not like riding a bike – at least, that is not my impression, after the first two macro sessions of the season. I do know that I have to close the aperture a bit more – something the reader Jürgen Rötzsch pointed out to me as well – but somehow it just didn’t work out the last two times. If I stop down to f/8 or f/11, pulling focus is easier due to the deeper depth of field. The pictures look more harmonious as well, because the eyes to not have to scour the entire picture for the one sharp spot. However, unfortunately taking the picture without any mistakes gets more difficult the more the aperture is closed. Since I take all my pictures almost exclusively by hand, holding the DP3M steady enough when the exposure time drops below 1/250 is hard for me. At least if the reproduction scale is 1:3 or bigger, because otherwise, with other motifs, exposure times of 1/100 or longer usually do not pose any problem. I know that leaning arms or elbows against something used to help me with that. Another option was shortening the strap and pressing the camera away from the body – apparently hands shake a lot less if the muscles have something to do. The last two times, these methods did not help a lot. Of all the photos I took at f/8 and f/11 only a single one turned out sharp.

Sigma DP3 Merrill (volle Auflösung - full resolution)

The others I took with the aperture between f/2.8 and f/5.6.

Sigma DP3 Merrill (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP3 Merrill (volle Auflösung - full resolution)

I’m going to have to work on my camera technique. :-/

You can find my remaining macro shots on Pinterest and Flickr.

  1. I hear you brother – tip of the hat to the masters of this kind of photography. It is very frustrating at times.

    Reply

    1. I hear you brother – tip of the hat to the masters of this kind of photography. It is very frustrating at times.

      Indeed. On the other hand, nothing worthwhile is ever easy.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

