A “Photo-Diary”


deutsch_s1

Not too long ago I started keeping a “photo-diary”. Since I am not an extraordinarily disciplined person, the individual entries have grown into one big chaotic heap of notes on my desk. I write down how long each “photo-walk” was, what equipment I took with me and any further information that lead to especially good pictures, such as notes on locations, light and motifs. I keep this rather fragmentary “photo-diary” out of pure curiosity, which means, basically, that I have no intention whatsoever of going in for a statistical evaluation or an array of excel-graphs. For me, qualitative data is much more interesting than concrete numbers. Even if I were to discover that I take my best shots at 10:30 in the morning, I would not be able to put this knowledge to much use, since I am usually at work at that time of day anyway. However, I do think that a “photo-diary” can be useful for gaining a number of insights. Interesting, if not particularly useful, was the fact that a typical walk takes me between one-and-a-half and two hours to complete, and that I usually only take a single camera. What turned out to be much more valuable was the information I collected on locations and motifs, especially in view of days when time might be in short supply and a long quest for suitable motifs not a viable option.

Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)

Do you keep a “photo-diary”? If yes, what do you write down?
Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)

Leave a Reply

