What would the sky look like if Earth circled other stars?


deutsch_s1

The Russian space agency, Roskosmos, recently published two videos which are interesting for us photographers. The first video shows what our sky would look like if Earth didn’t circle the Sun, but other stars. Out of the stars they showed I found Arcturus and Polaris – 115 and 2000 times brighter than the sun, respectively – particularly fascinating. I think you will agree with me if I say that if one of those two were our host star, f/8 would not be quite enough. The well-known photography quote would probably start with a very low ISO number, since the appropriate aperture value would be well inside diffraction territory. I’m sure pinhole camera photographers would be happy to finally be able to capture movement with their equipment. 😉


In the second video the moon is replaced by planets of our solar system. One thing I can say for sure – if one of the beautiful gas giants loomed large in the sky it would be practically impossible to take a boring landscape photo. My personal favorite is Neptune, its deep blue has a very calming and relaxing effect on me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

