Do you still shoot film?


deutsch_s1

I haven’t thought about analog photography in a very long time. Only after it was reported four weeks ago, that some large Hollywood studios want to rescue Kodak’s motion picture film business by committing to buy fixed quantities of film in the following years, did I begin to ponder about the good old medium again. Nevertheless I was surprised by the announcement that Italian film manufacturer Ferrania is intending to resume production. I’m aware that film is by no means dead. Relatively new companies like Lomo and Impossible Project appear to be making good money by selling analog cameras and film, those are however small companies that have specialized in a market niche. I’m dying to know, who the people are who buy film nowadays, and who keep Fuji’s film division alive and give Ferrania hope for a profitable future? Does one of you still shoot film?

Film

I’m asking because I don’t know anybody here who still shoots film. Digital technology, with its significantly more favourable €/photo ratio, has practically forced the analog one out of the market.

2 thoughts on “Do you still shoot film?

  1. I shoot film a bit, I’d like to experiment more but digital wins over film about freedom to get the image I want. For the following reasons:
    *With film I’ve to meet labs that have not skill to reveal the negatives (scratches, problems of development, perhaps overused chemicals) nor quality in the scans (smaller images in jpeg than current cell phone images)
    *Slides are dead, or at least are dead taking in account I’d to buy films from far away and there is no labs near that can process it.
    *There aren’t professional negatives so I’ve to buy from people in countries as Israel or others in Europe.
    *Technology to scan film at home, in dedicated film scanners, is priced to professionals (or dentists I guess) so again the only option is the limited local labs option.
    *Film cameras aren’t reliable, I’ve to replace the lightseals, import batteries, etcetera. My digital cameras even broken or out of orders can still take photographs.
    *Film is EXPENSIVE. Ten dollars a quality roll (imported), fifteen dollars exotic batteries (imported), eight dollars process them in the less worst local lab. And this is with the cheapest option: 35mm. I would like to choose medium format but the prices would be at least five times higher to process. I’d prefer to get a girlfriend, lol, she would grab more or less the same money but I’d be happier.

    So, there is just one reason to shoot film and is that the final output is great and a bit outworldly.

    • *With film I’ve to meet labs that have not skill to reveal the negatives (scratches, problems of development, perhaps overused chemicals) nor quality in the scans (smaller images in jpeg than current cell phone images)
      *Slides are dead, or at least are dead taking in account I’d to buy films from far away and there is no labs near that can process it.

      Yeah, the quality of film processing services seems to be getting lower by the day.

      *Slides are dead, or at least are dead taking in account I’d to buy films from far away and there is no labs near that can process it.

      Kodak has stopped producing slide films. And although Fujifilm is still producing Velvias and Provias, these cost like €10 to 20 depending on the format and emulsion. The 135 format slides cost like €15-20 a piece, while the medium format films are more like €9-11. That’s a lot of money for a dozen or three dozen photos. And development/processing is also quite expensive, even if you can find a local lab that still does slide processing.

      *There aren’t professional negatives so I’ve to buy from people in countries as Israel or others in Europe.

      That depends on the country you live in. In Germany and Austria you can still buy Kodak Ektar 100, Portras 160-800 and Fujifilm Pro 160NS and 400H.

      *Technology to scan film at home, in dedicated film scanners, is priced to professionals (or dentists I guess) so again the only option is the limited local labs option.

      Well there are Epson V700/V750, which are not priced at a pro level, but also do not deliver pro results. They are fast however and can scan multiple formats (135 up to largest MF if I’m not mistaken).

      *Film cameras aren’t reliable, I’ve to replace the lightseals, import batteries, etcetera. My digital cameras even broken or out of orders can still take photographs.

      You have to do research on reliable film bodies. There are bodies, like Contax G1/G2 (and many more), which are really reliable.

      *Film is EXPENSIVE. Ten dollars a quality roll (imported), fifteen dollars exotic batteries (imported), eight dollars process them in the less worst local lab. And this is with the cheapest option: 35mm. I would like to choose medium format but the prices would be at least five times higher to process.

      Yep, the cost of usage is quite high with film, but the the cost of good cameras is low compared to digital. You can get a nice MF body for a 1/10 or 1/20 of the cost of a digital MF body.

      I’d prefer to get a girlfriend, lol, she would grab more or less the same money but I’d be happier.

      Haha, can’t argue with that. 😉

      So, there is just one reason to shoot film and is that the final output is great and a bit outworldly.

      Honestly, if I were to start shooting film again, I would probably get a large format body and do processing and scanning myself. Considering how much time and money you have to put into it, 135 and MF are just not worth it IQ-wise.

Leave a Reply

