Overexposure Paranoia with the DP2 Quattro


deutsch_s1

Before you can shoot technically good photos with a new camera, you first have to familiarize yourself with it. You should follow your own instinct instead of listening to other people’s opinions. I made the mistake of relying too much on reviews – especially on the allegations of the Quattro having more dynamic range in the shadows but less in the highlights than the Merrills. Without having detected a DR problem on my first photo tour, I already started implementing a solution (underexposure) into my photographic approach on my second tour. I believe this is called a „solution to a problem that doesn’t exist“. 😉 As expected, I suffered a surprise when I edited my photos in SPP. The photos were pointlessly underexposed. If I had exposed them longer, the highlights still wouldn’t have been burned out. Had I exposed the photos just the way I usually do with the DP Merrills, I wouldn’t have had to increase exposure in SPP by 1EV, and thus increasing noise in the process. Well, I had to learn the hard way. 😉
Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)

Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)Sigma DP2 Quattro (volle Auflösung - full resolution)

You can find more of my photos taken with the DP2Q on Pinterest and Flickr.

  1. You’re right! Follow your own instinct is better than listening to other people’s opinions… nice shots by the way! 🙂

    Reply

    1. Thank you very much! 🙂

      Reply

    1. Thank you Marc-André! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

