The hype about a gangsters „beautiful“ mugshot


deutsch_s1

The USA is truly the land of opportunity. For example, it was possible for the felon Jeremy Meeks to become an internet celebrity, thanks to his “beautiful” mugshot, which was taken immediately after he was arrested. The photo in question, which you can see below, was posted on the Stockton Police Department’s Facebook page and was liked, commented and shared over 95,000, 25,000 and 12,000 times respectively. The “beautiful” portrait photo inspired internet pranksters to do all sorts of ironical and sarcastic Photoshop edits. A good example is the image of a fake Calvin Klein ad you see below. 🙂

facebookmugshot

Calvin_Klein_Jeremy_Meeks

The fun however doesn’t end there. A „Free Jeremy“ campaign was started on Twitter. Many comments made by female Facebook users, which range from compliments on Meek’s appearance to marriage proposals, are funny as well.

Less funny is the excessive bail of almost 1m dollars, when you consider that he is “only” being charged with being in a car with the “wrong people” and having two firearms with him. Is the right to keep and bear a gun not a civil right protected by the U.S. Constitution? I can’t seem to see through the US-American legal system…

  1. I don’t know every detail of the case but I don’t think it’s necessary to blame USA citizens for this normal human behaviour. I’m south American by the way, I consider myself American and I think there is a faulty logic to them to call themselves “americans” but in every part of the world women has attraction for criminals or any male that could be violent or any characteristic that make him “alpha”. And the morbidity exists even in Deutchland I believe, there is a song, that I like, by Rammstein about the man who killed and ate another man, and was a german newspaper that show to the world the sexy back of a girl married to one of the English royal house.

    Reply

    1. I don’t know every detail of the case but I don’t think it’s necessary to blame USA citizens for this normal human behaviour. I’m south American by the way, I consider myself American and I think there is a faulty logic to them to call themselves “americans” but in every part of the world women has attraction for criminals or any male that could be violent or any characteristic that make him “alpha”.

      You could be right. I know quite a few women that ignore “nice guys” and always fall for the “bad boys” and complain afterwards how the latter don’t respect them at all.

      And the morbidity exists even in Deutchland I believe, there is a song, that I like, by Rammstein about the man who killed and ate another man, and was a german newspaper that show to the world the sexy back of a girl married to one of the English royal house.

      I’m not familiar with the news about the sexy back of the girl, but I think I know what song you are referring to.

      Reply

  2. […] remember the „devilishly attractive“ and by now widely known criminal Jeremy Meeks I covered here? When his mug shot circulated all over the internet two weeks ago, some jesters came up with the […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

