Tip: Cynthia Greig ‘Representations’


deutsch_s1

It’s been a while since I last raised the matter of illusions. Back then in October, I talked about anamorphoses and how to creatively apply them in videos. This blog article deals with an effect that I, having no knowledge of any other label, baptize the cartoon-effect. Within her photo project “Representations”, photographer Cynthia Greig uses this effect to turn daily objects into drawings that are reminiscent of the beginnings of animated cartoons. Usually, artists try to make plain things appear more fantastic, which is why I like Cynthia’s converse approach so much.

rep6pack

© Cynthia Greig

representations2 representations3 representations6

© Cynthia Greig

Still, I have to admit that I have some issues with certain pictures having no real point of reference whatsoever. That is to say that photos looking 100% hand-sketched seem slightly boring to me, as there is no appeal or possibility of exposing the trick. What I find excellent, however, are the photos that look as if partly sketched and partly real. 🙂

Leave a Reply

